Skip to content

A Tame Tuesday

February 24, 2009

Hey everyone!

What a productive day it was at work! My class worked great today.  I don’t know what has gotten into them, but they’ve really seemed to grow up in the last little while and they have calmed down quite a bit.  I don’t seem to hear “Miss this and Miss that” as much anymore lol.  We had an hour long session in the computer suite today and the work that they completed was done so well. I was really pleased!!!

Before work I had a smoothie for breakfast:

img_06951

What you see here: Alpro soy milk (unsweetened- 1cup), 1tbsp flax, 1/4 cup oats, 1/2 cup frozen berries, 1 banana, some melon and a handful of spinach.

But before I mixed my smoothie I made sure to have a hazelnut coffee.

coffee
I’d say I generally eat pretty clean and crap free but I just love my flavoured coffee!

Then I mixed the smoothie as the sun was coming up around 7am:

smoothie4

On my break at 11:15am I had the other half of the Cran Lemon Zest Honest Foods bar that I started yesterday and a green tea. I also had an apple (not pictured).

img_07052

Lunch today was a simple wrap:

img_06871

It contained: hummus, spinach, tomato, cucumber, red pepper.
All wrapped in an organic tortilla.
With grapes and an orange on the side.

img_06881
During lunch today my coworkers and I sat around chatting about soap operas and different tv shows. It’s so funny to get an English perspective on things.  I’d mention a couple of shows that I used to watch while living in Canada and they just had no clue what I was talking about.  Thankfully Grey’s Anatomy is a pretty big hit in my workplace so I can gossip about that. Even if we are one season behind lol.

After work I had another hazelnut brew with a teacup full of bran cereal and museli with blueberries on top. I had this with soy milk.

img_070812

img_07091

Just fabulous!


I had a question earlier about why I have switched from dairy to soy milk/yogurt products.

Basically I did this about 6 months ago.
I had done a lot of reading up on dairy and the hormones that could potentially be in milk products.  Also, after speaking to my sister who had stopped having dairy products as well she noticed that it helped with any digestive issues.  So, I went on a trial run to see if I would see any difference.  I also have had problem skin in the past which I had read that milk could be problematic to sensitive skin.  Well, lone behold as soon as I stopped having dairy products my skin cleared extremely well.  I still get the odd spot every now and then depending on the time of the month (cough cough) but in general my skin is much better. Now, i’d be a hypocrit if I said that I stopped drinking milk solely because of the hormone factor that could be in dairy products because I am not a vegetarian and I do eat meat products- and who knows the hormones that could be pumped into that.  But, I suppose that could be a whole seperate post and I’m sure there are loads of different views out there!

I would say the main reasons that I don’t have dairy now is because of the digestive and skin improvements.

Another question i’ve had lately is what type of Heart Rate Monitor I use.

I use the Polar F6 Heart Rate Monitor and I just love it.  I use it each time I work out and it’s been so helpful to know my stats when running.

Here is a pic of mine:
img_06621

On that note, Steve just got home and were going to go running in a bit!
After running i’ll likely do Polly’s 10 Minute Yoga for Runners session.
Have you tried it yet?  Surely you have 10 minutes… give it a go! :)

I’m also going to try to work on my weight loss page later on tonight!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2009 5:50 pm

    I have problem skin and think it may be caused by dairy. My question is where do I get my calcium from? And does dairy include soymilk? Thanks! Email or comment on my blog itsawrapteacher.blogspot.com

  2. February 24, 2009 6:56 pm

    I love the combo of ingredients that went into your smoothie!

    I only eat yogurt occasionally now and have noticed a difference in my skin and digestion, too. It’s not 100%, but better! :)

    The name “wellies” sounds so cute!!

  3. February 24, 2009 8:05 pm

    Hey Leah!

    I’m Canadian also! I bet you miss the winter lol do you know if there are any whole foods in Canada? so far I’ve only found some in the states… I have to deal with Safeway and Superstore..boo!

  4. February 24, 2009 8:06 pm

    Leah, I got the bars in the post today. Thank you so much! You are so sweet. It totally made my evening. I can’t wait to try one (well, I’m going to wait until tomorrow since I’ve done most of my eating for the day)! I’ll be writing about it in tonight’s post :)
    I can’t seem to get rid of dairy completely, but I have hugely cut down in recent months and it’s been really great for me in general.
    Thanks for sharing what HRM you use–I am doing research to perhaps purchase one and Polar seems to be the top brand!

  5. February 24, 2009 8:10 pm

    Oh yes I forgot, I added you to my blogroll!! :) Love your site

  6. Yolanda permalink
    February 24, 2009 9:02 pm

    I Love your blog! I tune in everyday! Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. February 24, 2009 10:04 pm

    I love that teacup! So cute! :)

  8. Cindy permalink
    February 24, 2009 10:45 pm

    I agree with Yolanda about tuning in everyday. Your blog is so interesting. Thank-you !

  9. February 25, 2009 3:32 am

    I have the SAME exact heart rate monitor :)

  10. Ruby permalink
    February 25, 2009 6:03 am

    Thanks for the answeroonies! Mmm I am coveting your HRM now! I stopped drinking milk too, as I found it gave me digestive issues and exczema (however you spell it). I have quite a few vegan cookbooks (as I’m a veggie) and listening to the Vegetarian Food for Thought Podcast has really improved my knowledge on dairy free eating, eating healthfully, etc. So that’s a tipyou can try if ya need some inspiration!

  11. February 25, 2009 8:31 pm

    Yasmin- I commented on your blog to answer your Q!

    Ashley- Here is a list of the Whole Foods stores in canada! http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/stores/canada/index.php

    Thanks Ruby for the tip! I’m definitely going to look into more sources of info like that!

  12. February 26, 2009 2:25 pm

    oh this is a great little blurb about your hrm. i think i will probably go with this one because it seems to be the only one i can easily find! also – because you seem to love it so much! thanks so much for stopping by the blog! i love your comments!
    diana

Trackbacks

  1. Combat in the AM « Simply Fabulous

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

