Skip to content

Start of March Recipes; Meatloaf & Spicy Roasted Carrots.

March 1, 2009

Does anyone else feel like 2009 is flying by already?? It’s already March!

I love March for a few reasons…

  1. My Sister’s birthday (coming up on March 9th!).
  2. March 21st we are celebrating my Future Father-in-Law’s birthday.
  3. March 22nd is Mothers Day in the UK for my Future Mother-in-Law.
  4. Once March is done, April is here and i’ll be going to Canada for a visit!

On this first Sunday in March I was up so early! Before 7am!! What is up with that? I tried to go back to sleep but no such luck, so I got up and started organizing entries for the TREK bar contest.  I also found some recipes that I want to try this week for dinners.  It’s been a goal of mine this year to try at least one new recipe each week.

Last week I tried two!

You may remember the meatloaf I made last week.  If not, check it out.

img_07271

Now, because this is the first time that I have ever made it – i’d probably alter it a bit next time to make it healthier.  I’ll post the recipe, and then afterwards post the changes i’d make:

Crumble topping – simply mix together in a bowl, set aside until the last 20 minutes of cooking:

  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • pecans (approximately 6-8), chopped

Meatloaf (makes 1 loaf):

  • 1lb extra lean ground beef
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 1tbsp red pepper flakes
  • 4 button mushrooms (depending on the size), chopped
  • 2tbsp Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce
  1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.
  2. Place ingredients in a loaf pan;  shape so that it is flat on top.
  3. Cook at 160 degrees celcius for approximately 50 minutes (our oven is fan assisted – yours may vary).
  4. In the last 20 minutes of cooking, sprinkle topping mixture on top of meatloaf.
  5. Once finished cooking, take out of oven and let sit for about 5 minutes before removing from pan.
  6. Slice to desired thickness of serving and enjoy!

img_0729

Steve and I really enjoyed this dinner. But, how would I make it healthier next time?

  • I’d probably use egg whites instead of whole eggs. I also doubt that I needed two. One probably would have done the trick.
  • Instead of using bread crumbs within the mixture, next time I will try whole wheat flour, or possibly omit this step altogether.
  • Try adding more veggies to the loaf, such as red & green peppers! The veggies are really up to you.. if you don’t like onion or mushrooms – don’t include them.

The crumble topping (sans parsley) was an idea from Angela’s salmon recipe, which she got from Allrecipes.com.  I’ve used this topping a few times! Once on salmon, then on chicken, and now on meatloaf! It works for many different meals!

Now, onto the carrots!

img_07272

I wish I could take the credit for this one but this recipe came out of the February issue of Asda magazine. I love getting this magazine each month from our local supermarket.  The best part is it’s free!

img_0717

Here is the recipe.
Spicy Roast Carrots:

  • Cut 500g carrots into even sized chunks- boil for 8 minutes, then drain.
  • Mix 1tbsp pure honey, 1/2 tsp ground cumin & 1/2 tsp ground coriander with 2 tbsp oil (olive or the like), a pinch of salt and 2 tbsp lemon juice.
  • Add to carrots and toss to coat.
  • Roast in a tin at 180 degrees celcius for 15 minutes

All of the flavours really combined well.  We loved it!
This recipe makes a lot of sauce, just so ya know.
Next time i’d probably omit some of the oil as I didn’t think it needed quite that much.

***************************************************************************************

As it is March 1st it is the start of Tina’s 31 day Yoga Challenge! Don’t miss out!  I know i’ll be joining!

Also, Jessica is having a contest giveaway for a free KERF t-shirt.  Go check it out!

***************************************************************************************

I wanted to mention (because i’m trying to be oh-so-honest on this blog), last night when I got home from work I had a small portion of bran flakes with crunch museli and soy milk!

Yes it was 12:30am, but I was hungry after work!
Afterall, the clock doesn’t tell me when to eat – my body does!

img_08121 img_08141

I’m off for a run to start the month off right! Then I think i’ll be doing some yoga.
I also have work to prepare for a new work week tomorrow.

Have a great start to your Sunday and i’ll see you later!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. strawberryshortstuff permalink
    March 1, 2009 12:19 pm

    Good Morning!

    I’m up before 7am today too! Oh well, more time to workout, cook, read blogs, relax and enjoy the day!
    Happy March 1!
    -Diana
    http:/strawberryshortstuff.com

  2. March 1, 2009 12:34 pm

    I’m making a meatloaf today too, it’ll be a new recipe for me too…it has whole dried plums (prunes) running through it! One suggestion on your bread crumb/whole wheat flour swap out…I always swap them out in a meatloaf for old-fashioned rolled oats! In a small bowl, stir together 1/2 cup oats and 1/3 cup milk. Aloow to sit while you prep your other ingredients and then mix in.

  3. March 1, 2009 12:36 pm

    Diana – I totally agree!

    Jessica- I never even considered rolled oats.. what a great idea! Thanks for that! I’ll try it next time.

  4. March 1, 2009 12:58 pm

    Lots of fun things in store for your month of March!! Fabulous!!

    SPICY roasted carrots???? Yes, please!!

  5. March 1, 2009 1:36 pm

    I love this quote “the clock doesn’t tell me when to eat – my body does”! So true!

  6. March 1, 2009 4:24 pm

    Thanks for posting the recipes!!!

    I like March, too! It’s my birthday month. :)

  7. March 1, 2009 5:44 pm

    wow, TWO new recipes! that crumble topping sounds amazing…and at first glance, I thought that meatloaf looks like a cookie crumble bar! have a great month!

  8. March 1, 2009 6:51 pm

    Yay! I’m glad you’re going to join the Yoga Challenge!

  9. March 1, 2009 8:06 pm

    Love the look of those carrots! Delicious! So, are you in Birmingham, UK, somewhere?

  10. March 1, 2009 9:51 pm

    Mother’s Day this year is also my mother-in-law’s bday! Yikes! Oh, the pressure!
    Meatloaf looks delish! I’ve used oats in place of breadcrumbs in the past and it worked nicely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

