Skip to content

Happy Birthday Sis!!!

March 9, 2009

I just want to take a moment to wish my beautiful Sister a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

I wish I was in Canada right now celebrating with you and I can’t wait to see you in 4 short weeks!!!

P1060411

This is my sister and I last summer…!!  Times like this make me really miss my family!!

Love you and Happy Birthday!!!!

*************************************************************************************

I hope everything is having a great Monday so far.  I have been having a really good day thinking about how my family are back in Canada and hoping they are having a great day today.  I didn’t get a chance to blog this morning because I had a few (ok 20!) extra minutes in bed! I had a lazy start to my Monday!

Rewind back to last night!! I was craving ice cream like crazy… we didn’t have any in the house so I decided to have some hot chocolate instead with a peach.

IMG_1106  IMG_1109

 

I was still hungry before I went to bed, so I chugged some water because the kitchen was closed!

Like I said, this morning I spent some extra time in bed but knew exactly what I wanted when I got up. Cereal!

I used half of the last Honest Food bar that Ange sent me last month.  The flavour of this was out of this world!

IMG_1113

 

I used half of this bar and put it on top of some bran flakes.  My fruit toppings were about 5 cherries and 1 banana.
With some unsweetened soy milk.

IMG_1114

IMG_1116

Great start to a manic Monday!

 

On my break today I had an apple (not pictured), and lunch was nothing extraordinary. A simple wrap with spinach leaves, cucumber, tomato, lemon & coriander hummus and cheddar cheese.  On the side I had a peach.  I was still a bit hungry so I snacked on a pear too (not pictured).  The wrap was red pepper flavoured which was quite nice!

IMG_1112

I’m quite peckish today, so I think I need to have something more to eat. I’m feeling pretty hungry.  We’re still deciding what to do for dinner and whether or not there will be a gym visit.  There is lots of leftover chili… I think I may have to freeze some!! There is also a pub around the corner which serves great dinners for less than $6 per person! We might go over there.  We haven’t been in AGES!

**********************************************

Some quick gym thoughts:

I’ve been looking through the class schedule at my gym and I think i’m going to start attending more of them.  I really miss them. They are a great way to meet people (for me especially!), and burn calories while having a laugh.  I don’t know about at your gym but at mine there are some fun instructors which always makes the class more enjoyable!  I do think i’m going to have to bring my 1000 mile goal down a little bit because I don’t think it’s realistic for me to work two jobs, plus attend fitness classes and run miles and miles per week.  I just can’t do it.  So I want to put the enjoyment back into exercise and remind myself why i’ve always loved it in the first place.  Steve sets a great example of this for me.  He exercises quite a lot but not the standard in the gym for an hour everyday kind.  He plays soccer a couple times a week and also plays squash with his mates on Thursday nights.  This helps him keep in shape.  I think summer time is very easy for this type of thing because i’m always more active in the summer (like you can see on my ‘exercise’ page).  Anyway, i’m going to keep these things in mind!  I think a good variety is key…. always challenging your body to work in different ways.

*********************************************************************************

Around the blog world:

Kelly is having a giveaway over at Every Gym’s Nightmare. Go check it out!

Abbie over at Foodsthatfit is having an amazing giveaway of all her favourite things. A-mazing!

**********************************************************************************

Did anyone else hear that Paula Radcliffe won’t be running the London marathon in April? She has a fractured toe.

This woman is in wicked shape (look at those abs!).  I guess even world record holders need a break sometimes eh?  I hope she has a speedy recovery!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 5:43 pm

    Gym classes are a great idea! I only wish my little gym offered them :( Happy Bday to your sis!

  2. March 9, 2009 5:43 pm

    You and your sister are both beautiful!

    I love the looks of that hot chocolate! YUM! The cherries on the cereal are pretty fab, too! :)

  3. strawberryshortstuff permalink
    March 9, 2009 5:44 pm

    You and your sister look so much alike! I can imagine you miss your family a lot! I miss mine and they are only a 3 hour drive from me! I think it’s great that you have decided to adjust your goals to fit your lifestyle.
    Diana
    http://strawberryshortstuff.com

  4. March 9, 2009 5:53 pm

    What a lovely dedication!! Happy birthday to your sister!!

  5. Yolanda permalink
    March 9, 2009 6:15 pm

    Awwwww! Thanks Sis! I Love You!

  6. March 9, 2009 7:51 pm

    I love taking classes at the gym; right now I’m into spinning, body pump and my boot camp. They are so motivating and I love meeting people I normally would never cross paths with! Lately I have met some fabulous women; we are all so different but are at the gym for common reasons. We all had a party (the bootcampers) on Friday and it was the most fun I’ve had in a long time!

  7. March 9, 2009 8:01 pm

    ahh the Farmer’s Trail Mix was my FAV flavour!!! wish i had more! haha

    Happy birthday to your sis! :)

    I love your thoughts on the gym and making it fun again. There is no way I am doing 1,000 miles this year, if anything that will set me up for a major injury. I think sometimes taking each week as it comes is more exciting that sticking to a hard pressed schedule!

  8. March 9, 2009 8:35 pm

    Happy Birthday to your sister!

    And it sounds like you’ve got a great plan on the gym…and I think I would’ve made the same move if I was in your position, you’ve got a lot on your “plate”!

  9. March 9, 2009 10:40 pm

    Definitely a fruit filled day! Are peaches a good price right now in the UK? I just don’t think of it as peach season, since peach season for me is when our local peaches are out :)

  10. March 10, 2009 4:17 am

    i also had an insatiable appetite today. *sigh* except unlike you I wasn’t quite so good and kept giving in to the munchies….lots of ‘em.

    The breakfast and lunch all look so fresh and tasty. Oh! And happy b’day to your sister! I love it when siblings are so close! I adore my brother to death too. :)

  11. ricecake5 permalink
    April 13, 2009 7:23 am

    Interesting fact about ladies and abs.. I’m a nursing student, and my fiance’s parents are both workout buffs, his mom was a fitness model, and his dad owned a HUGE gym in Toronto… Anywho, did you know that it is impossible for a woman to have a “six pack” without being underweight ?? Just the way our bodies are! So unfair that men can have them and still be at a “healthy” weight.

    I guess we must keep in mind that some women are STILL healthy “underweight”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

