Skip to content

May 1st! In the news..

May 1, 2009

It’s MAY!! I love May.. it’s one of my favourite months (next to July – my Birthday month).  I always wanted to get married in May as I was growing up…. but plans kind of changed when I became a teacher with 6 weeks off in the summer :)  I love May for the weather as well. Not too hot, not to cold.. just right!!

I am watching the news this morning and of course all throughout the headlines everyone is talking about Swine Flu.  What’s your take on it??

Apparently there is a couple here who were supposed to get married in Mexico and can no longer go, obviously because of the fly ban into the country. They were supposed to go along with many family members for their destination wedding.  Well, the travel company that helped them with their travel plans are refusing to reschedule their wedding & trip to another destination.  Can you believe it? Now that it’s all over the news you can pretty much guarantee that their plans will be rescheduled!  Word of mouth is a powerful thing!

Breakfast this morning…

IMG_0655 IMG_0653

Cereal with sliced strawberries, ground flax and soy milk.
With a side of hazelnut coffee :)

Also, on the news they were talking about social networks.

Facebook is an obvious one.

The Blogging community is another one!

The point of the story, though, was discussing that even though there are many social networks out there -we can really only count on a handful of people in our lives.  That if we really ever need something we would have just a few people who we could go to and they would help us out.

I would obviously go to my immediate family first. We are a very close family and I can always count on them.  Next i’d go to my closest friends.. the ones who stand out to me are the girls especially that will be standing up for me in my wedding.

Who would you go to?
What social networking sites do you belong to?

On Facebook I have something like 200 friends… it makes me laugh really because I definitely do not talk to all of them on a regular basis.  Facebook keeps me in touch with family & friends, and I love it for that! But, I do sometimes think I have friends on my list who just want to take a peek into my life to see what i’m up to and that’s it.  I won’t lie… i’m guilty of that as well!

Well, I’ve got to go to work… I’m hoping to get a chance to post tonight but it’s going to be a busy one!! I’ve got some errands to run and an outfit to find for Sunday! Yikes!
Have a GREAT Friday everyone!! :)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 6:44 am

    Mine is the same — family, and then my friends! I have a lot of people on facebook that I hardly know! I should probably clear out my ‘friends’ list soon. Have an awesome Friday!

  2. May 1, 2009 9:43 am

    Wow–didn’t realize it was MayDay today…thanks for waking me up ;)
    I definitely depend on my hubby & immediate family the most. I am also lucky to have a handful of friends that I can call any time of day for support…and I’m with you, they’re not the 200 people on facebook! The blogging community is wonderful for certain things but obviously since it’s internet-based there are limitations with how friendships can develop.
    Those strawberries look so ripe and gorgeous! I’ve got to get my hands on some!

  3. May 1, 2009 10:41 am

    i actually made the decision a few weeks ago to clean out my friends list on facebook and get rid of people who just friended me through my blog (unless i’m actually “blog friends” with them) or people who i no longer speak to. i kind of well bad about rejecting people on facebook now, but the whole point of the site is to keep up with/stalk people you actually know! :)

  4. May 1, 2009 12:48 pm

    Isn’t it just sick that some companies have to have that public ridicule before just doing the “right” thing? Disgusting.

  5. May 1, 2009 1:01 pm

    I’d definitely go to family first, friends second. I used to have a facebook account but shut it down soon after. There are people that in are my past for a reason and I want to keep it that way!!!

    My wedding anniversary is in May!!!

  6. May 1, 2009 1:33 pm

    My is one of my favorite month’s too!! It’s hub’s bday month!! :)

    I have facebook and recently “cleaned” out my friends…if they weren’t people I actually talked to in real life I deleted them (felt bad about it when they tried to re-add me!)

    Happy Friday!!

  7. May 1, 2009 4:30 pm

    haha I have tons of people I dont talk to on facebook! Really facebook is a way that people like to snoop I think. Sometimes I have to ‘purge’ old friends…HAHAHA

  8. May 1, 2009 4:41 pm

    I used my middle name as my last name on Facebook so all the random people from 2nd grade can’t find me. I only have I think in the mid-50s of “friends” on there, and the majority are close family and friends, and some extended family and friends. I agree – family and close friends would be the people I turn to first.

    Horrible about that travel company! I’m glad they’re getting tons of bad press – shame on them!

    Swine flu is just out-of-control in the news. They run away with people’s emotions and fear, and I feel like they really take advantage to get people to sit glued to their TVs. Honestly, I don’t think it’s a big deal, at ALL. Yes, it’s very sad that people are dying – but that’s mainly in other countries where they don’t have good healthcare and it spread faster. Most of us have healthy immune systems and access to healthcare, so we’ll be fine, even if affected. The normal flu kills tens of thousands more! And the only US reported death was actually a Mexican boy, who just happened to die while on US soil – otherwise there have been no US citizen deaths, even with the hundreds of confirmed cases. I read an article that said the best way to protect yourself, is the same as the common cold- just wash your hands!

  9. Stephanie permalink
    May 1, 2009 6:27 pm

    I’m such a nosy person! I have so many friends on facebook, and I’m definitely the type to just that a peek and see what everyone is up to!

    As for the swine flu, I’m a nursing student and work in community care. I’m not too worried about, but I tell you we’re sure working hard to try and keep things contained! Because I provide care for people in their homes, I have to call them ahead of time and ask them if they have a new cough OR fever. If the answer is yes, I have to gear up with a surgical mask, gown and gloves before entering their home!! It’s insane. Technically, We’re supposed to do this anyways after the SARS thing… but I know for a fact no one really does it. Which is kind of a shame really! They’re really strict about it lately though because of the swine flu. Some of our clients have colds at the moment… imagine their surprise when we walk in with all our gear!

  10. May 1, 2009 7:18 pm

    Hooray for May!! I view the swine flu like I did with SARS – the news is blowing it out of proportion! I’m just going to keep on living my life as usual.

    I only count on my family first and then my close friends. I actually get creeped out by people that try to add me on Facebook to the point that even if you know my name you can’t see my profile, picture, anything. It’s all locked up :)

  11. May 1, 2009 7:45 pm

    I think it’s true that we sometimes get caught up in our blogging community and forget the people closet to us. I know I have met so many wonderful people through blogging and have gained so many friendships, but it’s my immediate family members who I know are always going to be there for me!

    Good luck dress shopping! Try to enjoy it :) !

  12. May 1, 2009 9:24 pm

    I hardly even use Facebook anymore. All my curiosity about the people I went to high school with has been satisfied :P I also refuse to twitter… as if I need something else on the internet to distract me!

  13. May 2, 2009 3:03 am

    I love May too I got married in May and on the 28th I celebrate my 3rd anniversary!

  14. May 2, 2009 3:16 am

    Hi!

    But as far as being able to rely on people – I can’t think of many. A few close friends, family, the boy. I think that most people are there for you and they are awesome when everything is great. But if shit hits the fan – not a lot of people want to be there to help you clean up the mess. At least that is what I have learned from my experience.

  15. May 2, 2009 10:43 am

    I love May too! Hmm after hubby I’d go to my sister first and then my friends and then family. I don’t belong to facebook because of its privacy policy, but I do belong to a Dutch network :) I mostly use it to find out how people from my past are doing, *lol*. Yummy breakfast!

  16. homegirlcaneat permalink
    May 2, 2009 8:31 pm

    I love facebook really only because it let’s me keep in touch with all my friends all ova the world! And ever since I joined the blogging community, I have felt so much love and everyone is so friendly, positive, and accepting! Have a wonderful Saturdayyy!!

  17. May 2, 2009 8:45 pm

    I have a love-hate relationship with facebook! I have loads of ‘friends’ that I haven’t spoken to in years and sometimes I wonder if I really want them to see all my photos etc. I prefer to speak, email and text my real friends and use facebook, twitter, email and blogs for my online friends. Yeay for May – the weather was gorgeous in Devon today xx

  18. May 2, 2009 11:20 pm

    I definitely have some friends on facebook that I keep there because I want to know what they’re up to, but to lazy to actually ask them…I know, it’s bad :) But when life gets busy, I don’t get too behind on my friend’s lives! :) I’m so bad at snail mail or even email so facebook has been my redemption :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

