Skip to content

A Wonderful Wedding, English Style

May 4, 2009

We had such a great day yesterday! The day was long, but it was so much fun. 

After posting about my BSI Challenge this week.. (by the way i’m happy so many of your are excited about it, i’ll get to your questions tonight!) I fueled up with some breakfast.

This is a repeat photo because I had exactly the same thing from last week:

Green smoothie + Kashi bar with peanut butter

IMG_2121

Steve & I ended up going out to the shops and found a cute top to wear to the wedding, as well as some accessories, of course!  I can’t believe I had to shop for my outfit the day of the wedding, but oh well… procrastination & organizing myself is something I really have to work on. More on that later though.

I bought this!  Pretty, isn’t it? I especially loved the bow.

IMG_2188 IMG_2190

I had a coffee while getting ready (and painting my toe nails)…. and snacked on a Berry Cheeky Nak’d bar.

 IMG_2192  IMG_2193

And then I found this….ah!!  I was going to put some bronzer on, and I couldn’t believe that my favourite shimmering bronzer was cracked to pieces in the bottom of my make up bag.  Must have been the flight a couple of weeks ago that did it.  I was still able to use it for yesterday, but I think it’s going to end up in the bin.

IMG_2191

We were all ready to go at 12:15pm! But not before we got outside for a couple of photos :)

IMG_2195 IMG_2199

IMG_2197

Our friends were getting married at 1pm at a nearby church.  Here are a couple of photos inside.
Check out the hats on the women! It’s so English to see the women wearing hats or head pieces (with feathers!)… one of these days i’m going to wear a head piece.

IMG_2201  IMG_2202

 

IMG_2204The Bride, Lisa with her Dad!  In England the Bride comes down the aisle first and her “Chief Bridesmaid” walks down the aisle after her. 

 

I’m sad the photo came out blurry…

her dress was so pretty!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before the reception I had a Peanut & Oat Trek bar & some pecans.  Seriously, 3 bars in one day, that is NOT like me.  But, I needed to eat something! 
Here are a couple of photos we snapped before the reception started..
Steve & I, and then Steve with some of his mates.

IMG_2209 IMG_2207

Once inside, I got a photo of the decor…

The center pieces were gorgeous!!
IMG_2213 

Then it was time for dinner!

(Why is it called “The Breakfast” ?? I have no idea!)

IMG_2222 IMG_2214

Smoked salmon with cucumber & mint sauce as a starter (very good!) with a whole grain bread roll with butter.

IMG_2216 IMG_2215

Then for my main meal I had ordered the vegetarian option when we rsvp’d a month ago because I wasn’t sure what would be the “meat” on the menu.  I was so glad I did this since I don’t eat lamb.  My meal: vegetarian pasta with a cheesy sauce (I ate half, the portion was huge!) with some roasted pepper, onion and green beans.

IMG_2217

Dessert was definitely my favourite part.  Raspberry creme brule with a shortbread cookie.
I also asked the waitress for a mug of hot water to have a tea (that I brought..typical Leah style).

IMG_2228 IMG_2229

I think between the cheesy pasta and the creme brule my stomach suffered from a bit of dairy overload. It was a bit unsettled & bloated after dinner :( It also didn’t help that later on once the buffet came out I had two pieces of foccacia bread with tomato & mozza cheese. My belly was not happy.  But, the food all tasted really good! I think if I could go back, though, I would ease up a bit.

Here are a couple of photos of the happy couple!

Cutting their cake & their first dance. Too cute!

IMG_2227 IMG_2235

Now, after the lovely photos of the day… I thought I’d share one of the most hilarious things I have seen.  About one month ago the groom, Simon, and all of his best mates went to Barcelona for his Stag weekend.  It’s traditional for the groom to have a Stag weekend and the bride to have a Hen Night.  A lot of the time the guys get together an outfit for the groom to wear.  Well, his best man presented Lisa with this life size souvenir from that weekend of her new Husband.

 IMG_2232

How hilarious is that?!?

I can’t wait to see what the guys do for Steve on his Stag weekend in July!

I know this has been a long post… so glad if you made it this far! It was a great day!

It has been a great 3 day weekend.  The weather has been fabulous except today it’s raining :(   I’m off to catch up on some blogs, hang out with Jillian, clean the house and see what the rest of the day brings!! Hope you are all having a great start to your week!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 11:53 am

    You guys are a gorgeous couple! I love weddings and it looks like that one was beautiful. Love your top, that was a good purchase :)

  2. May 4, 2009 12:07 pm

    aww what a wonderful wedding! Love that yoy brough TEA!!! bahahahaha!!!!!

  3. May 4, 2009 12:11 pm

    What gorgeous pictures of you two and I love your top!

    I think it’s called the wedding breakfast because it’s the first meal that the bride and groom share as a married couple (just as breakfast is the first meal of the day…)

  4. May 4, 2009 12:12 pm

    Ange- lol classic eh?? The best part is everyone at our table thought it was a GREAT idea!

    Sarah- genius! You are probably so right!

  5. May 4, 2009 12:38 pm

    Loved the life-sized souvenir! It looks like we all had a fantastic weekend.

  6. May 4, 2009 12:47 pm

    What a lovely wedding!

    And I LOVE LOVE LOVE the big earrings! I’m a big earring fan (taken both ways)! In fact I often think they make them too small! lol Must be the Latina in me coming out! ;)

  7. May 4, 2009 1:00 pm

    I carry tea bags whereever I go. I have one in my backpocket. ;) LOL
    And oooh you two look stellar, love your top! And ooh love the wedding pictures, gorgeous time!!!!

  8. May 4, 2009 1:55 pm

    What a lovely day. You look great in your new outfit :)

  9. May 4, 2009 2:03 pm

    What a beautiful wedding! You look so pretty in your new blouse :)
    LOL…Matt was forced to dress as a pirate for his stag do! Pretty sure a life-sized version of that wouldn’t be pretty, either!

  10. May 4, 2009 2:11 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderful mel at the wedding! I know what you mean about over doing it a bit, though! Hindsight is always 20/20!

    Love the top you bought!!

  11. May 4, 2009 2:18 pm

    Beautiful Wedding!

  12. May 4, 2009 2:35 pm

    Looks like a lovely wedding! I love your top too, so pretty :) That cardboard cut out is hilarious too!

  13. May 4, 2009 2:48 pm

    I just found your blog and love it! I have a special place in my heart for England (I studied abroad there in college) and want to move back! I love your 1000 mile challenge too – maybe I will try it myself!

  14. Sarah permalink
    May 4, 2009 3:00 pm

    cute pictures of you guys! looks like a gorgeous wedding.

  15. May 4, 2009 3:14 pm

    I love the top you picked out! :-) Gorgeous!

    It looks like you had an eventful day at the wedding! The food looks really food- I know what you mean about overload though. It’s hard not to try all the tasty looking eats though. So yum!

    Have a great day!

  16. rediscoveringlauren permalink
    May 4, 2009 4:13 pm

    what a lovely wedding! your top is beautiful :) and i love how your hairs all pretty n curly!

  17. May 4, 2009 4:22 pm

    I love your top! Super cute- I’m a huge fan of bows on…pretty much anything :) I love the brides dress at the wedding- looks like a beautiful day! I always get the veggie option at weddings…feels safer than going with mystery meat!

  18. May 4, 2009 5:14 pm

    Beautiful pictures Leah. Great wedding! YOu were lucky, often the food isn’t up to much!

  19. May 4, 2009 5:43 pm

    beautiful wedding, and I love the shirt :)

  20. Sarah permalink
    May 4, 2009 5:47 pm

    I use that bronzer too, and I DIE when that happens to my pressed powders and blushes. I actually curse, and then I die. You can always scoop it into an empty container, but who wants to do that?

    Will get back to you via email soon!

  21. May 4, 2009 5:55 pm

    What a fun wedding! You looks absolutely GORGEOUS and your top is adorable! Glad you found such a pretty outfit at the last minute :)

  22. May 4, 2009 6:33 pm

    You guys looked adorable and so did the bride Lisa (and her husband in that cutout :P). Love your top! It’s happened to me too that I had to find something at the last minute, although not the day of! :)

  23. May 4, 2009 6:33 pm

    Love the shirt…i’ve been known to shop the day of an event too!!

    Looks like a fun wedding! :)

  24. May 4, 2009 6:49 pm

    You and Steve look great!! Love the outfit! Sorry you had a bit of a dairy overload :(

    HAHA that cutout is hilarious!!

  25. May 4, 2009 7:40 pm

    What a beautiful wedding. Since I got engaged I love looking at pictures of other peoples weddings and getting ideas! The food looked delicious.

    Oh and I loved your top – its a great colour on you! xx

  26. May 4, 2009 8:00 pm

    ughhi HATE broken makeup from traveling! it is such a downer. on the upside your new outfit looks super cute!!! and that life size cutout crakcs me up. maybe it is called the wedding breakfast because it is the first thing you eat after the wedding? breaking the fast? odd. who knows. glad you had fun!

  27. May 5, 2009 12:53 am

    I hate when I end up with a broken container of makeup. I’m too stubborn though, and will use it until it’s gone, even if it’s broken!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

