Skip to content

The Oat Monster

May 8, 2009

Thank you to everyone for your sweet comments about our wedding rings!  We definitely love them and I especially love trying it on as much as possible, just to make sure it still fits ;) haha.

TGIF eh? This weekend could not come soon enough for me.  I know it was a short work week here but wow it feels like it was a long week!

It’s so sunny outside too today which makes it an even nicer Friday!

This morning I was craving a green monster smoothie.  I love these, obviously – and I love them even more when they keep my hunger at bay and give me energy for a while.  They are low in calories – let’s face it, spinach, banana and soy milk isn’t much! So to give me more staying power this morning I used some oats in it.  I’ve used oats in smoothies tons of times, although not sure if I’ve used it with this combination yet.  I also threw in a bit of peanut butter for a bit of healthy fat.

In the mix:IMG_2281

  • 2 generous handfuls spinach
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 3 mint leaves
  • 1 banana

IMG_2282                                              IMG_2283

This smoothie today was 384 calories, which I think is quite substantial for breakfast!
(plus, i’ll be having a snack mid morning).

Do you ever count calories?

I haven’t in ages. I just added up the smoothie for readers, just incase you wanted to know!

I do think that initially counting calories helped me lose weight, but I don’t think it would be necessary for me to do it now unless I wanted to lose more weight, which I don’t.

Breakfast:

IMG_2285 

With snacks for later!

IMG_2286
*********************************************************************************

Keeping Consistency with Exercise:

I have been suffering from an exercise funk.  Meaning, other than doing the 30 Day Shred I haven’t been doing much in terms of other exercise (cardio etc).  Last night I finally got out for my first run/walk in over a week.  It is so not like me.  Sometimes I find that if I am under stress I get very tired and cannot get the motivation to exercise.  This leaves me feeling even more sluggish and makes me frustrated with myself because I know how good exercise makes me feel! Last night I felt awesome after burning so many calories doing something that I love. I got out in the fresh air, worked on my strength and felt fabulous for doing it.

I asked myself afterwards why don’t you just do this everyday like you used to!?

Exercise funks are normal, in my opinion.  I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing to go  without exercise every now and then.  It gives your body a break and helps it repair itself. 

I think we all have to take moments to evaluate our exercise routine and figure out what’s working and what’s not working for us.

I was on Spark people this morning and came across an article on keeping the consistency with your exercise.  Here is one of the tips the article gave:

  1. Never tell yourself “I’m not motivated.”
  2. That’s not the real problem, unless you really don’t want to lose weight or live a healthy lifestyle. As long as you do want these things, you have all the motivation you need.

    It may be true that sometimes you don’t want to exercise, or that you really want to stop and get fast food rather than cooking dinner. That’s understandable, but it doesn’t mean you’re not motivated. It just means that you want two different and opposing things, and you have to make a decision. Telling yourself that you lack motivation is just a way of denying that you really do have a choice.  In the long run you’ll do better if you acknowledge that the choice is yours to make.  Then, once you’ve made the choice: pay attention to how you feel about the choice you made, and decide whether that is how you want to feel most of the time.

Being consistent does not mean being perfect.

(love this!!)

How do you stay consistent with exercise??

I’ll post the other two tips later on!
Off to work I go!

Enjoy your FRIDAY!!

Friendly BSI Reminder!
(Not sure what to do?? Some questions answered here!)

22 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 6:57 am

    I don’t really count calories. I’m pretty aware of the general amount of calories in most of the things I eat, and try to pay attention to how much of a calorie dense food I eat/add to a dish, but I don’t have the patience to measure & count everything I eat in a day. I think it’s really good to be aware of the nutrient profile of what you are eating, but depending on how you work, you may or may not need to count the calories. And especially starting out for weight loss/weight gain, you probably need to count for a little while to get a handle on what works for you.

  2. May 8, 2009 8:17 am

    I think you know this already but I’m trying to wean myself off of counting calories. It’s HARD. It’s really a challenge for me to find a balance between counting and going overboard the other way. Did you ever count while losing the weight?

  3. May 8, 2009 9:18 am

    I like those points about motivation/consistency/perfection/etc! One of the big things for me with exercise is that it has come to serve so many purposes beyond fitness and weight. Those things are important to me, but I am much happier and calmer with exercise than without. I guess because I exercise first thing in the morning I notice it especially. So I suppose for me motivation comes down to the benefits seriously outweighing any minor costs (being tired, not wanting to get out of bed), and it being about more than fitting into my jeans or whatever.

    There’s also a group of people who tend to go to the gym at 6am during the week, and I’m on acquaintance terms with a few, so if I didn’t turn up I’m sure someone would comment on it the next day! That probably lingers in the back of my mind too :) I do find it hard to push myself at the gym sometimes, but I think that is usual. You can’t work out super hard EVERY day!

    Somewhat belatedly – I love your rings too!! :)

  4. May 8, 2009 11:48 am

    What a great smoothie!

    I do not count calories. I am trying to eat intuitively as years of being in the diet/binge cycle have really ruined my relationship with food. I am slowly but surely losing weight, it will probably take more time that way but my RD assures me that I am on the right track.

  5. May 8, 2009 12:07 pm

    Unfortunately I am CONSTANTLY counting calories in my head (thanks ED) but your smoothie looks delicious. Do you see any difference yet in your skin/energy level/etc…after incorporating the green monsters in your diet?

  6. May 8, 2009 1:28 pm

    To stay consistant with my workouts, I mark them in my planner everyday just like everything I have to do. It also helps that I have a gym right at the office so there really is no excuse not to go over my lunch hour. If I’m feeling unmotivated, chances are I’m not feeling 100% or I’m very tired….

    I don’t count calories but I still loosely follow the Weight Watchers point system that helped me lose weight 4 years ago. It’s just become a habit!

  7. May 8, 2009 1:35 pm

    I always count cals. It actually helps me eat more ‘normally’ than if I don’t. If I work out how much I can have each meal then I stick to it and really enjoy it without the guilt!

  8. May 8, 2009 1:46 pm

    I totally agree that exercise funks are normal! Good for you for not being so hard on yourself. As as far as I’m concerned the shred is still very much a good workout even if you arent having your cardio like you used to!!

  9. May 8, 2009 2:05 pm

    Yes I count calories,but I am trying to loose weight. I think it is a helpful tool. I don’t feel like it is a chore or obsessive or any negativity to me.

    I stay consistant with excercise by doing it first thing in the morning. It helps that my husband exercises with me.

  10. May 8, 2009 2:10 pm

    I just love adding oats to my smoothies! And I love the addition of the pb. Almond butter is GREAT in them too! :D

    As far as counting calories, I tend to keep a rough estimate in my mind while I am thinking up my meal, but I never focus on the calories. As long as all the food is healthy and good for me, I don’t think it’s too necessary to obsess over every little calorie.

  11. May 8, 2009 2:33 pm

    love your wedding rings…mine is very similar style (solitaire w/diamond band), just white gold and princess cut instead!!

    and thanks for sharing the info you found on sparkle people…great point!!

  12. May 8, 2009 3:14 pm

    Do you eat your kiwis with the skin on? I’ve always eaten them without the skin, but I’m assuming it can’t taste that bad if you eat them like that :)

    I definitely think that exercise ruts happen. What I think is important is not letting them last more than a week, and to at least do some walking (for me anyways, because I’m trying to lose weight). Also, when I’m on a roll workout wise, I take advantage of it!

  13. May 8, 2009 6:23 pm

    I don’t thiiiink I count calories? Maybe in my head I ballpark it. That smoooothie looks SOOOOOO good :)

  14. Leila permalink
    May 8, 2009 6:23 pm

    I love this line: It just means that you want two different and opposing things, and you have to make a decision.

    It’s so true that we quickly jump to being hard on ourselves instead of just realizing that almost everything we do is a result of a choice that we’ve made. So not exercising one day (or many) is simply a choice we’ve made, not a lack of motivation. And it’s okay to not always make the right choice, that’s what makes life fun, you never know what you may uncover when you choose to NOT do something.

    have a great weekend, so happy to hear the weather is nice over there. :)

  15. May 8, 2009 6:52 pm

    Leah- the rings ARE gorgeous! I missed that post due to my chaotic day yesterday! I love them!!

    Great looking food over the last 2 days as well!

    Staying consistent is very easy for me because I love it so much. It does help that the gym I belong to is in the same building I work in so the convenience is probably a factor. The great feeling I get after a workout always stays with me and is also a motivating factor. Knowing that my buttocks will remain in my jeans also helps! hahaha!

    Have a great weekend!! I’ll be around to check out your posts for sure!

  16. skinnymenny permalink
    May 8, 2009 7:58 pm

    Hi! This is a great post – I sometimes get into funks with my exercise routine too, which is why I try to not get too “routine!” I switch it up every few weeks to keep things interesting. You’re right…after exercising, you always feel so great that you wonder why you didn’t do it in the first place!

    p.s. Gonna have to try one of those green monster smoothies – looks delish!

  17. Lindsay permalink
    May 8, 2009 8:28 pm

    Hi Leah,
    I am coming to England in July and I am going to be celebrating my Birthday there, I was just wondering if you might want to meet up with me or if you might just want to make me some recommendations about where I should eat and shop while I am in England for a month!! :)
    Email me if you want to: gogirl001us@yahoo.com

  18. May 8, 2009 8:38 pm

    I count calories so much I could pretty much guess the right amount of calories in a meal. It can get pretty tedious weighing and counting everything.

  19. eatlivelovedream permalink
    May 9, 2009 1:02 am

    I think our bodies totally need breaks from exercising too! I need to make a green smoothie I think. I haven’t had any veggies today! Shame, Shame!

  20. Kristin permalink
    May 9, 2009 12:28 pm

    Hi Leah! Thanks for visiting my blog! I’m adding you to my reader so I can keep up with u! I’ve heard of people adding oats to smoothies and I think it’s a pretty good idea. Might try it out!

    Looking forward to reading more :)

Trackbacks

  1. Two Special People « Simply Fabulous
  2. Full of Eye Candy « Simply Fabulous

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

