Skip to content

I Could Live on Salads!

May 21, 2009

Guess what my Sister said to me over facebook tonight..

“Can’t wait till you update your blog! *winkwinknudgefreakingnudge!* :)”

She makes me laugh!

Yes, well I’ve had a super busy week!! But I am so happy tomorrow is Friday!!

I sent off my trial test scripts yesterday and I should hear back from my supervisor tomorrow about how I did.

In the meantime  I have 356 test scripts hanging out in my living room in a huge pile.  I should take a picture, it’s quite the sight! Don’t let the number 3-5-6 fool you though, because each test script has 4 components to it:

  • reading
  • spelling
  • short writing task
  • long writing task

So even though I have 356 scripts to mark, that is actually 356 x 4…. do the math!!

Think of the money, think of the money – repeat repeat repeat!!

Guess where I went yesterday?!?

My class and I (plus two other classes and more teachers) went to Drayton Manor!
A really fun theme park!!  We had a BLAST!
You guys may remember the Sats testing that my class was doing two weeks ago (the ones I am currently marking for 7 schools across the country!).  Well Drayton Manor is their treat  for completing the sats tests. We had soooo much fun!
Want to see a few fun pics?

Here I am with my current TA, and my TA from last year.

I’m just 5’8, but I feel like a giant – for real.

IMG_2396

My friend Natalie (another teach!) and I!

IMG_2399

Me with three of my students!! Memories!!

IMG_2400

Checking out Thomas Land – I want to bring my nephew here next year!

IMG_2407 IMG_2406

How adorable is this sign?!

IMG_2409

One of the girls won this crazy large animal. Too funny.

IMG_2415

My class!!! What a GREAT group of kiddies.  They had so much fun (and so did us teachers haha).

IMG_2423

**************************************************************************************

As my post title says.. I have been lovin’ the salads lately and I’ve been making myself some wonderful creations… massive.salad.greatness.

Here is one from last night:

IMG_2425

You know me, I don’t have dairy anymore… well, not much.  But feta cheese? I LOVE it.  I treated myself to some last night. So good.  It didn’t seem to upset my stomach at all either.  Fantastic eh?

This salad was a fab combination of loads of things, such as:

mixed lettuce, green pepper, cucumber, tomato, feta cheese, celery, sliced purple grapes, strawberries
(I think that’s it!)
I topped it with a drizzle of balsamic dressing.
Pure love!

IMG_2426

Just incase you didn’t get enough of that greatness, I had another one tonight – but a different combination!

The star of the salad?  Bangers.

Yep, I had bangers on my salad. And you?
You see two here, but I actually had 1 and a half.  Steve had the other half, plus 2 more.

IMG_2427 IMG_2428

Here is my dinner tonight in all of it’s glory.

IMG_2429

IMG_2430

The ingredients on this salad went so well together.
Mixed lettuce, cucumber, tomato, green pepper, celery, feta cheese, 1.5 bangers, avocado, rocket hummus, hot salsa.

I didn’t need salad dressing- the combination of flavours were so good I didn’t need it!
This dinner was so satisfying!

IMG_2431

What are your favourite salad combinations??

Well, i’ve got to hit the hay!  Tomorrow is Friday and i’m on a course. Yippie… then my Cousin & her Hubby are coming over for the weekend! They’re visiting England for two weeks! So exciting! Sorry i’ve been a bit m.i.a but hey, it’s been nutso.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    May 21, 2009 11:03 pm

    that salad looks great :) I love adding apples with hummus and some Laughing Cow cheese wedges in!

  2. strivingforbalance permalink
    May 21, 2009 11:55 pm

    i love the summer because it is perfect strawberry season. Strawberries in salad are the best!

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  3. May 22, 2009 12:02 am

    Great salads! I love to mix fruits into my salad combos…whatever I have on hand, I’m not picky about it!!!

    That theme park reminds me of Wonderland!!! ;)

  4. spicygranola permalink
    May 22, 2009 12:17 am

    I just found your blog! Your salad looks really good, I love fresh fruit mixed with a savory salad. I really like that picture where you looked like a giant. I’m only 5’8” too but I am often head and shoulders above other people.

  5. May 22, 2009 12:48 am

    I love the looks of that salad!! Feta is fantastic!

    It looks like you guys had a blast at the park!! What a great group of kids! Good luck with the grading!

  6. May 22, 2009 1:29 am

    Great pictures!

    Love the salad!

  7. May 22, 2009 1:42 am

    I can’t wait to start breaking out the salads for the summer season. I like adding fruits to my salad with feta or goat cheese. And of course some type of nuts for crunch. I heard granola is good too so I’ll have to try that out.

  8. May 22, 2009 1:59 am

    That strawberry salad is beautiful- I’m sure it was delicious, too!

  9. May 22, 2009 2:06 am

    Loving all the salads! Spinach is ALWAYS a must on my salads, and I love added a fruit into the mix just for a bit of added flavor – apples, peaches, or strawberries are my favorites!

    Awww, what a great time with the kids. They must have loved their reward for all that hard work!

  10. May 22, 2009 3:21 am

    dang that is a lot of work.. yes yes think of the $$$!

    beautiful salads! oh and it is national strawberries & cream day so you were on the right track with the strawberries.

    my favorite salad is anything with avocado & red pepper.

    have a good one leah!

  11. May 22, 2009 3:23 am

    That first salad you made is seriously my favorite salad combination in the world, feta and all! I usually use apples instead of grapes though and drizzle it with some apple cider vinegar instead of balsamic. It looks so summery!

  12. May 22, 2009 4:42 am

    Woooo you’re tall! ;) I’m Hispanic and just shy of 5’5 but for my people I really am tall. As in I also see over people’s heads! lol Go figure!!

  13. Sarah permalink
    May 22, 2009 6:18 am

    You KNOW I’m loving those salads…

  14. May 22, 2009 11:00 am

    I could live on salads like those? If you have a bit of a dairy intolerance, why not swap feta for a crumble of goats cheese?
    My fave salad right now is iceberg lettuce, shredded red cabbage, griddled chicken, toasted cashews, cucumber and sweet chilli dressing. Lovely

  15. May 22, 2009 11:16 am

    I missed you, Leah!
    Cute pictures from the field trip…my nephew would love those trains, too!
    I’m sure I’ve said this before but fruit in salads is my favorite thing ever so I’m loving the strawberries + grapes! And salsa makes a great dressing!
    Hang in there…three-day weekend ahead!!

  16. May 22, 2009 1:33 pm

    good luck with all those scripts…wow!!

    and looks like a great time with your class at the park!!

  17. May 22, 2009 2:06 pm

    I love salads with goat cheese, dried cranberries and nuts… Anything with fruit is usually good. I put strawberries on my dinner salad last night actually!

  18. May 22, 2009 2:53 pm

    Hi Leah! It looks like you guys had a fab time! So great!

    Amazing looking salad! I love salads with a lot of diverse things in them!

    Have a great weekend with your cousin!!

    Yay for Friday!

  19. May 22, 2009 3:49 pm

    Awesome pictures, what a wonderful time!!!

  20. May 22, 2009 3:56 pm

    I love quorn bangers but have never thought to put them on a salad! Great idea :)

    Drayton Manor looks fab but I’ve never been

  21. May 22, 2009 5:08 pm

    Emily- I could, but I just LOVE feta :)

  22. May 23, 2009 3:37 am

    Aww your day looks so fun! :)

    Love the salads you are the salad QUEEN!

  23. May 23, 2009 7:41 pm

    I’ve never seen that Quorn product!! It looks yummy!

  24. May 26, 2009 6:48 pm

    Oooo the strawberry feta salad looks awesome. I tried to pick up feta yesterday, but they were out of the kind I like :-/ I like my salads with EVERYTHING in them. mmmm

Trackbacks

  1. Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Caution

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

