Skip to content

Ode to Oats

June 8, 2009

Does anyone ever have days where they can’t seem to stay awake?! That was me today.  I didn’t fall asleep until after 11 last night, probably closer to 11:30 and I was up this morning and yoga’ing by 6:30am.  I did 10 mins like I had planned and I yawned the whole way through lol! But, I was glad I did it afterwards.

I wanted to show you this brand of oat milk that I bought last week!! It is SO yummy!

IMG_2545 IMG_2546

It is not cheap but it is so worth it for a milk alternative.  For you coffee drinkers out there, you know that soy milk typically curdles in coffee… well, this sure doesn’t! It’s sort of the same consistency as almond milk or rice milk.  Curdle free in coffee!  And it’s also great if you are worried about your consumption of soy.  I’ll definitely be drinking this instead of soy milk around my time of the month.  As some readers suggested, because of the hormones in soy milk that might be the reason that I am experiencing the monthly breakouts.  I’ll let you know in a few weeks how it works out!

Here are the nutritionals:

IMG_2548

And a fabulous “Ode to Oats” on the back! Love it! It kinda reminded me of Kath’s ode to oats :)

IMG_2547

Great, eh?

Tonight I have a spin class that I must leave for in about 40 minutes! I am so excited for this class.  I’ve been looking forward to it all day!!

We had a fairly early dinner tonight, so that I could digest for my class- and that way I don’t have to eat after 8pm once I get home.  I can have a mini snack & a herbal tea and be ready to read.

We made grilled turkey fajitas!!

IMG_2573

Loads of veggies in there as well including: red & yellow peppers, red onion, 1 sliced tomato and mushrooms.

Before adding in the veg, when we were grilling the turkey breast we added some seasonings: tumeric, cumin, red pepper flakes, black pepper.

I used 1 whole grain wrap and tore it down the middle so that I could make two mini fajitas out of it.  With the meat & veg mix I had some hummus and salsa as well.

IMG_2575 IMG_2576

I had two of ^these^ !!

With some steamed asparagus on the side, leftover from last night.

IMG_2574

Can you believe that Steve cannot remember when/if he has ever had asparagus??
I swear I have made it for him before but I think he forgets :D I just love it! He kept calling it “green sticks.”

For all those looking for a cheap and convenient meal.  There you have it!!

It’s no secret that Steve and I are on a budget these days, and this type of meal is cheap & quick… takes literally 10 minutes to make!

Gotta go digest now before spin!!

Hope you all are enjoying your Monday.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 7:11 pm

    What a fun package for the oatmilk – love the design!!

    Love the “green sticks” :-D

    Enjoy spinning!

  2. June 8, 2009 7:15 pm

    I saw Oat milk at earthfare a few days back, but it was way too pricey.I think after your review, i’ll give it a try.

    great dinner!

  3. June 8, 2009 7:23 pm

    I don’t think I’ve seen oat milk before – it looks great though, I love oat-anything!

  4. June 8, 2009 7:31 pm

    I’ve seen that oatmilk on shelves before but have been hesitant to try it. Maybe I will now that you have given it the thumbs up! :) Dinner looks great!

  5. June 8, 2009 7:35 pm

    that oat milk container is so cute!

    i love the quick / healthy dinner, too, and the fact that it’s cheap to make!

    enjoy spinning!

  6. June 8, 2009 8:11 pm

    dude it must have been something in the air because i didn’t got o sleep until midnight and had to be up at 6! i am regretting it now, and the silly thing is i was just sitting around doing nothing until midnight!

    i haven’t ever even heard of oat milk! but that box is so awesome, i love the ode. what does the milk taste like? rice or almond milk? or a different taste?

    thanks for the quick & thrifty meal idea! looks delicious and balanced and healthy!

    have fun at spin :)

  7. Sarah permalink
    June 8, 2009 8:39 pm

    I bet you could make your own oat milk for super cheap, and then eat the oats too! I’m going to google it.

  8. June 8, 2009 8:53 pm

    Sarah- ok, I never thought of that but I bet you could too!! Let me know if you find anything.. i’ll do some googling too.

  9. June 8, 2009 9:16 pm

    I have never seen oat milk around here, but I sure would like to!

  10. June 8, 2009 9:24 pm

    I’ve never seen oat milk before but I am definitely intrigued!!

    Amazing looking dinner!

    I have been tired all day too- and so busy. I hope spin went well! I definitely plan on hitting the gym aroudn 8pm for sure!

    Have a great one!

  11. June 8, 2009 10:22 pm

    I’ve never heard of oat milk, I’ll have to look out for it. Check out my latest post as I made your bean burgers tonight. Great recipe, we loved them! I have also got a giveaway going on so be sure to enter! :)

  12. June 8, 2009 10:39 pm

    Green sticks – haha!! A Czech friend of mine used to pronounce it as AHS-PAR-A-GOOSE. We were all confused as to what she was talking about because it sounded nothing like asparagus ;)

    Have fun tonight!!

  13. traveleatlove permalink
    June 8, 2009 11:45 pm

    LOL when my husband moved from Ireland, we were at the grocery store, and he said “What’s cantaloopay?” cantaloupe :) We still call it that!

  14. april permalink
    June 9, 2009 12:41 am

    I wonder why the oat milk doesn’t have much protein? Those fajitas look yummy! have a great spin class!

  15. Yolanda permalink
    June 9, 2009 1:10 am

    There are so many differnt types of milk:

    http://members.tripod.com/~iskra/nomilk/altmilk.htm

    Wonder how making your own compares.

  16. Julie permalink
    June 9, 2009 2:18 am

    Oh! I love the ode to oats :) and that milk looks so fun!

  17. June 9, 2009 2:53 am

    I haven’t made fajitas in so long! Thanks for the reminder:)

  18. June 9, 2009 6:14 am

    I haven’t had fajitas in forever! I loved ordering them at restaurants, because they’d bring them out all sizzling in the pan, plus they were just fun to put together and eat.

  19. June 9, 2009 1:03 pm

    Your fajitas look great! My husband won’t even try asparagus! What a suck he is! ;)

    I adore oat milk. I bought some in the States a few months back but was never able to find it here until tis weekend! The brand I found is called “oat dream”. I didn’t buy it because I want to wait until my current supply of almond breeze had dwindled some. But I WILL be back for it!

  20. June 9, 2009 1:24 pm

    I just tried oat milk last week, and loved it!

  21. June 10, 2009 1:59 pm

    I put jam and eggs on my toast at the same time too and my friends all give me wierd looks lol

Trackbacks

  1. Kitchen Experiment #1 « Simply Fabulous

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

