Skip to content

GLAM mascara winner + Falafel meal for 1

October 5, 2009

Hi guys!!  I don’t think i’ve ever been so excited for mascara.

I swear I should email Rimmel for a free sample or something :P

Today was such a long day, as Mondays tend to be!  I taught all day and then coached the girls netball team after work for an hour.  I find coaching to be so hard to get motivated for on a Monday but we did it and had some fun! An hour goes by quickly anyways!

I have a lot of tahini (or shall I say tahinah) on my hands….

IMG_3930

It was the perfect timing for the tahini recipes that Heather posted as she was doing a weeks worth of fun meals that incorporated it!  I’m dying to try the salmon (and meatloaf for that matter!) but tonight as I was just cooking for myself I decided to try the Chickpea and Vegetable Falafel bread recipe that she found on Meghan’s blog “Making Love in the Kitchen”  – how cool is that blog name by the way?

I made them into falafel balls, perfect for topping salads or eating alone- whatever you prefer!

IMG_3935

I used tahini instead of the olive oil (as suggested) and organic plain flour.  I also didn’t have enough lemon juice so I substituted water instead and I used chopped green pepper and chopped onion for the vegetables.  Then I garnished them with paprika before going into the oven!

IMG_3936

The recipe makes quite a bit, so even though the title of this post is “Falafel meal for 1” there are definitely leftovers!  I had 3 falafel balls for dinner tonight on top of my salad, and have 6 leftover for leftover meals.

Out of the oven…

IMG_3938

And on to my salad!

IMG_3941

The salad also had lettuce greens (incl spinach, cuc, tomato and diced cheese – all drizzled with a bit of evoo and balsamic vinegar).

The chickpea falafel balls were perfect.  Nice and crispy on the outside.  Steve even loved them, who was sitting next to me eating a bacon and chicken sandwich (aka chicken club) and french fries :)

Make these tonight!!!

Ok ok … enough dinner talk huh?  On to the winner of last weeks contest!

There were 69 replies in the post, but one was my own replying to a comment so I put the numbers 1 – 68 in to the random number generator.

image

The winner is…

LISA!

She wrote:

I adore mascara, but I simply must have a base foundation to smooth out skin!

CONGRATS Lisa!  Email me and I’ll post the prize to you asap!

Thanks everyone for entering!  This was fun.

 

Well, the Husband and his friend are currently watching the Villa football game (Steve is yelling at the TV in excitement!), and I’ve got a little ANTM to watch!  See you tomorrow for a post on what i’ve recently (as of today) diagnosed myself with.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 9:07 pm

    Congratulations to Lisa!!

    Enjoy ANTM tonight :)

  2. Leigh permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:18 pm

    They look great! Just wondering, I’m in the UK too, where do you get that tahini? I’ve looked in my local supermarkets and can’t find it anywhere. Thanks :)

  3. October 5, 2009 9:32 pm

    Hmmm, I’m curious about your self diagnosis! LOL!

  4. October 5, 2009 10:04 pm

    yayy for the winner of mascara, and YAY for the falafel recipe!!! It definitely looks more delicious than the fried ones, and I love that you substituted tahini into the recipe!!!!

    By the way, I’m hosting a ZenSoy puddings and soymilk giveaway, so drop me a line if you’re interested!

  5. October 5, 2009 10:09 pm

    Loved your modifications! And freeze the extras :)

  6. julie permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:15 pm

    those fallafel balls are a MUST make :) they look so good and especially now because I’m super hungry for dinner haha :)

    have fun watching the game!

  7. October 6, 2009 12:27 am

    CD, resident carnivore of our house, loved the falafels. No leftover for us. Next time, I’m adding paprika. Great idea!

    Glad you’re enjoying your tahini – even after all my tahini meals last week, I’m still in love with the stuff…especially the tahini salad dressing. So yummy.

    Enjoy the rest of your week. :)

  8. October 6, 2009 1:13 am

    Woohoo! I just emailed you my address! I’m so excited to use it! Thanks for the giveaway!

  9. October 6, 2009 1:26 am

    Mmm, those falafel balls look delicious! : )

  10. October 6, 2009 4:50 am

    Wow, those look great! Will have to try out the recipe, I’ve never attempted to make falafel before!

  11. October 6, 2009 3:52 pm

    I loooove Falafel. I might try this recipe soon!

  12. October 22, 2009 4:43 pm

    oh YUM! I had that same jar of tahini (well not that exact same jar but the same brand LOL) but I ended up having to throw it out because I opened it and then only used it twice, falafel both times. I’d like to try it again but I should probably buy a bigger jar!!

  13. October 24, 2009 8:06 am

    Dur, smaller jar I mean….(tried to change the comment as it was posting but the site scolded me for posting too fast..that told me!!!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

