Skip to content

My love for a new daily exercise

October 21, 2009

Have you changed up your workout recently?  When was the last time you really thought about the type of workout you were doing and whether or not you truly enjoyed it? 

A couple of weeks ago I went for a run.  You know me, I like to run!  The thing is, when I was only about 3/4 of a mile away from home I started to get an intense pain in my foot.  So intense that I had to stop running and it hurt to walk on it.  Luckily it hasn’t happened since, but that’s because I haven’t been running.  When I stopped to walk that day I looked around me and realized how pretty the road was that I was walking on.  It was gorgeous looking at the leaves that had fallen and taking in the sun.  All of a sudden I had this sudden appreciation for the pain in my foot because it made me stop to walk and really appreciate what I was doing at that moment.

Like other runners, I often zone out and think about everything and anything.  Steve, work, shopping, what movies I want to see, America’s Next Top Model.. whatever!  But often times when I run I think about my pace, the hills coming up, how far i’m running, how long until i’m finished, the pain in my side, whether or not my shoes are tied properly, the pain in my foot.  Personally, running this way sucks.  Constantly thinking about all those things sucks!  If I enjoyed my run so much, then why the heck was I thinking about how soon it would be finished?  Sometimes I would push myself so much that i’d feel sick.  All of a sudden when I began to walk, I didn’t think about any of these things. 

I mentioned in an earlier post about a new exercise that I had been doing.  I would have loved to say something fun like Zumba, or equally exciting like rock climbing or para-sailing.  No people – i’m walking!  I know, right?  Have I aged 20 years since getting married? 

I’ve been walking almost everyday (except when I was sick for a few days last week) for an hour since that day.  I’m not saying i’ve never stopped to walk before during a run like that day- but it was when I couldn’t physically run that I realized I didn’t necessarily have to in order to get in a work out.  During the summer I was doing a lot of tredmill hill walking. Wow, was this ever a good work out! And it did wonders for my legs and abs.  That was my main workout and I remember when Steve saw me when he arrived in Canada and he really noticed a difference in me!

Now, don’t get me wrong- I love a good run. And this girl has not given up on running.  But I have traded it in for a good ol’ soothing walk to clear the mind and keep me young.

Yup..keep me young.  My sister- who is an x-ray tech and a mammographer sees women (and men!) every single day.  Old women, young women – all kinds of women.  My sister has told me countless stories about older women who come to get x-rays and things done and they look so young for their age.  She always asks them what they do to stay so young.  Walking.

Check out some of the benefits of walking at this website!

My Mom works in a hospital where she walks tons during the day.  She has said that she has noticed great improvements in her health since starting work there!  My sisters husband walks almost daily and he usually takes Liam with him.  I think it is a GREAT way to get children to start understanding the benefits of exercise.  Liam loves walking with his Dad.  He’s always ready to go!  Whether my brother in law realizes it or not he’s probably setting the foundation for Liam to have an active childhood as he gets older.

I also have a lot of yoga love… like these ladies…

Heather , Polly , and another lovely Heather!

And yes, i’m still lifting weights!  Still loving it!

Point here: shake up your work out a bit!  You might be surprised that you actually love it!  Don’t always think that you need to be drenched in sweat or completely out of breath for it to be called a work out.

Just get moving.  That’s it!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 7:13 am

    I’m so happy you are walking! I am not very athletic but I have always been a serious walker.

    Like yoga, it calms the mind while strengthening the body.

    A personal trainer once asked me what my workout was and I told him I walked everywhere. He said that was the best way to stay lean, and that sneaking in hills was a great way to add muscle.

    It is often overlooked in North America as being real exercise, and I find many people will drive to the gym, take the elevator rather than the stairs, and only see it as exercise if they’re wearing running shoes and fitness gear. I’m taking tips from the Parisians and just walking as much as I can instead!

  2. psychologist1 permalink
    October 21, 2009 7:32 am

    i think running is quite good and useful but i can not force myself to do that. i am too lazy… unfortunately… i always find some reasons for not doing it: bad weather, bad health and so one… recently, i’ve begun going in for aerobics! this is for me! lol! i feel myself much better now!

  3. October 21, 2009 11:21 am

    I like walking too :) I’m lucky enough to live on a gorgeous riverside trail that takes me downtown. So oftentimes, when I have to run errands downtown, I’ll walk the 25 minutes there and then back. In terms of getting fresh air, it’s way better than biking or running!

  4. October 21, 2009 1:25 pm

    Don’t always think that you need to be drenched in sweat or completely out of breath for it to be called a work out. AGREED! It took me years to realize this, and I’m so thankful I finally did. Nothing wrong with a short and sweet intense workout, but there is just something so peaceful and calming when it comes to a good walk. I wish more people realized its benefits.

    Yoga :)

  5. October 21, 2009 3:13 pm

    I love walking, especially since it’s a workout the boyfriend and I can do together. Our schedules are pretty busy sometimes so it’s nice to have a nice 45 minute walk where we can just spend some time together a couple days a week while staying healthy. It’s also a workout I can keep up with even while sick – I’m sick with a cold right now and there’s no chance I’d be able to run, but I was able to get out for a 30 minute walk yesterday at a slightly slower pace than usual. It’s nice to have a workout activity that I don’t have to drastically alter when I’m sick or a bit tired.

  6. October 21, 2009 3:30 pm

    agree agree and agree! there is something about walking that is not only good for the body, but for the mind too!

  7. October 21, 2009 3:47 pm

    Great post- I really appreciate the sincerity and I agree that you don’t have to nearly kill yourself to get in a good workout. I also love walking hills on the treadmill or just outside with my husband and it’s a great time to relax and breathe!

  8. October 21, 2009 4:07 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I’ve stopped thinking, “I need to burn ‘X’ amount of calories” to get a good workout. I don’t think it works that way, and that’s not the mindset I want. I know if I’ve pushed myself, I know if I’m getting the benefits I want…that’s so much more important that the # of calories I’m burning. That’s why I’ll NEVER have a Garmin or a Body Bugg. I know it’d make me NUTS.

  9. October 21, 2009 4:40 pm

    When I run outside, I’ve been making a point to not run with music. I find that this way you really appreciate your surroundings a lot more! And with the beautiful fall foliage here it would be a shame not to :) I’ve also been walking whenever I can just to enjoy the weather and everything :)

  10. October 21, 2009 4:41 pm

    I love this post!

    I am going to be trying out a totally new workout this week….I can’t wait to reveal it!

  11. October 21, 2009 7:11 pm

    Agreed! Sometimes a good walk is much better than a run that you’re not into at all…

  12. October 21, 2009 11:36 pm

    Awww, thank you so much for that beautiful shoutout Leah!

    I am SUCH a walker!!! Seriously, every single day I walk at least 2 miles. There’s just something about slowing down and relaxing that really benefits you both mentally and physically. And I’m so glad you’re enjoying yoga. Another amazing workout that has more benefits than I could have ever imagined. :)

    xxoo
    Heather

  13. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 22, 2009 12:36 am

    The other day when I was off of work, the sun was shining and it was a beautiful fall day…so I decided to go on a looooong walk. It was glorious! It felt like a great workout but mentally relaxing at the same time, you know? Anyway, I think it’s great that you’re enjoying your new workout :)

  14. Ali permalink
    October 22, 2009 1:22 am

    I love walking! Even when I had a big backyard I still took my dog for 30 to 60 minutes walks every day so we can both get exercise even if I didn’t hit the gym that day. There is no better way to escape than a nice long walk:-)

  15. traveleatlove permalink
    October 22, 2009 2:02 am

    Walking is GREAT exercise! Whatever you enjoy and gets you moving!

  16. Ashley permalink
    October 22, 2009 2:06 am

    Couldn’t agree more. I walk to work and home every day, about 1.5 miles. I live in NYC so I’m lucky enough to be able to change the scenery each morning and evening. It’s my “ME” time, time to think, laugh, breath freely with no distractions. I love it and look forward to it every day.

  17. October 22, 2009 7:07 am

    Amen! I’ve been walking tons lately, too. I’m amazed at when I do it inside on an incline, how much I am sweating when I really crank it up! But even a nice walk outside feels great afterward, and the fresh air is a LOT nicer than the gross gym air!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

