Skip to content

Nut Butter Parsnip & Carrot Fries

May 10, 2010

I have been eyeing up these fries on Ange’s blog for quite some time now.  From the moment I saw them I knew it was going to be love!  Ange wrote a post about a recipe she found in a book of hers and as soon as the photos went up, my mind said “yup – gotta make those soon.”

You can also find them here on Meghann’s blog too. 

Last night I made a Sunday roast dinner (as per tradition for a Sunday here in England) and we had some leftover carrots and parsnips in the cupboard.  I know what i’m like and sometimes I can tend to forget about the root vegetables I have in the bottom of the cupboard.  So, instead of going through the process of having to throw them away in a week, I decided to use them right away tonight. 

IMG_4939

The recipe Ange posted called for crunchy peanut butter and almond butter.  Both of which I didn’t have.  So, when all else fails – use a different nut butter!  I used smooth peanut butter and crunchy cashew butter (one of my favs!!!).  I mixed both up (about 1tbsp of each) with some EVOO (1tbsp) in a bowl and threw the carrots and parsnips in the bowl to coat them.  Then I lined the baking sheet, sprinkled them with a bit of sea salt and into the oven they went.

45 minutes later baked on 170 degrees celcius, they came out perfectly.

 IMG_4944

Well, almost.

I think I could have taken them out about 5-7 mins earlier because the ends of the fries got a little scorched.  We have a fan assisted oven and it tends to cook things a lot quicker!  No biggie though, they still tasted good!

Parsnips- I loved these the best:

 IMG_4942

Carrots:

IMG_4941

I think this is yet another way to enjoy vegetables and they pack in loads of nutritional goodies. A fab way to dress up veggies that could otherwise be deemed to be quite boring.

I will DEFINITELY have them again.

Fun fact: when I first met Steve in 2006 he was not a peanut butter lover at all, or any type of nut butter lover for that matter.  I’ll never forget when he saw me making a pb & j sandwich for the first time he laughed and said “what are we, 5?”

He LOVES it now…especially crunchy peanut butter.  I had to fight him for these fries tonight. Doesn’t he know not to get between a woman and her food! ;)

**************************************************************

Today was the 1st day of the testing that we’ve been preparing the children for at school.  1 day down, 4 to go.  Someone once said to me “don’t wish your life away”  and I’ve got to say.. if you were in this situation – you’d be counting down the days too!!  It has been an unbelievably busy three weeks preparing for these days.  In actual fact, we’ve been preparing for MONTHS.  Literally since before Christmas.  But, the past few weeks after Easter holidays was when things really got kicked into high gear.  Once Friday hits, the children and us teachers will feel so much better.  I will be able to enjoy the last few weeks of work before my maternity leave.

Does your job ever leave you feeling stressed?

One more thing before I go…

3 years ago this beautiful baby boy was born.

It is my Nephew Liam’s 3rd Birthday today!!!

He brings so much joy to my life.

 

 

 

HAPPY 3rd BIRTHDAY LIAM!

I hope Mommy lets you eat all the cake you want!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 10:45 pm

    Those veggies look so good! I saw Angela’s recipe and have been wanting to try it out!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LIAM!!! :D

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. May 10, 2010 11:03 pm

    Those fries look so good. Everytime I see them on a blog I think that I need to make them. But I haven’t yet.

    Happy birthday to Liam! He is such a doll…makes me so excited to meet my own little man in October :) My sister-in-law has twin baby boys and I love being an aunt too!

  3. May 10, 2010 11:07 pm

    What a cute nephew you have!

  4. May 10, 2010 11:39 pm

    I definitely need to try those fries after seeing them pop up on blogs everywhere! Liam is adorable, Happy Bday to him!

  5. May 11, 2010 12:34 am

    He’s such a cutie!!! Happy birthday, Liam :) Also I haven’t tried the nut butter encrusted root veggies yet but I recently posted a recipe for flax and nutritional yeast encrusted sweet potatoes – that’s my current fave way to eat my root veggies!

  6. Fabulous Sister permalink
    May 11, 2010 1:21 am

    Thank-you Auntie Leah!!!! You are the best Aunt and we miss you very much!!! Love you!

  7. May 11, 2010 6:58 am

    I’ve seen many a tweet about these nut butter fries. Since I love both nut butters and fries, I’m pretty sure I’ll need to make them myself one day. They look delicious :)

  8. May 12, 2010 6:45 pm

    Wow those fries look amazing – need to give them a try :)

Trackbacks

  1. Nut Butter Parsnip Fries | Not Your Parents' Granola

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

