Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday

August 23, 2010

For the last 8 weeks since Sophie was born i’ve been trying to get myself into a routine where I plan out our dinners for the week.  Now that Sophie is here, popping around to the grocery store isn’t as easy as it used to be so getting everything in one trip is the best way to do it.  I’ve been inspired by Ali from The Healthy Hostess who tends to plan her dinners week to week with a 4 month old little girl.  I finally thought if she can do it, I can too.  To be honest it’s something i’ve always wanted to be organized with, but never really had that kick in the rear to do it like I do now!

I’m going to try to do a post like this once a week so that not only will it keep me organized, but maybe it will give you some ideas too!  Some recipes will have links, so check ‘em out!

Monday

Chicken jalfrezi
side of naan bread

Tuesday

Ali’s Tofu asparagus quinoa (adapted from her original recipe – i’m making cous cous instead of quinoa.)

Wednesday

Lara’s lean meatloaf

served with salad and a baked potato

Thursday

Valerie’s mushroom risotto (i’ll be using walnuts instead of pine nuts)

served with a side salad

Friday

BBQ hamburgers

There we have it! Now to make this successful we’ll have to stick to to it :)

Do you ever plan your meals week to week?  What’s on your menu this week?

Thanks for your well wishes for Sophie’s tummy!  She is doing much better. :)

IMG_5828

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 2:56 pm

    I LOVE the flower!!!!! I have a total obsession with Petal Babies here in London. They have such cute stuff and I think little girls look so CUTE with big flowers on their little heads. I’m glad to hear that Sophie’s tummy is better and its funny that you post this because I was just thinking that I needed to start menu planning as well. Ever since Caitlyn came I’ve been neglecting my diet too much, menu planning should definitely help with that.

    • August 23, 2010 4:52 pm

      Ahh I am going to have to go in Petal Babies when we are home if we can stop in London!! Sounds fun! Let me know how you do with the menu planning – maybe we can swap recipes!

  2. August 23, 2010 4:14 pm

    You will love the menu planning! It saves so much time and more importantly…sanity!!!
    Sophie is so precious! Wish we could have a playdate!

  3. August 23, 2010 4:25 pm

    I do try to do a meal plan each week. I go in spirts… Plan for a few weeks and then not for a bit. Depends on my mood and how much stuff I have to get done that week, but I try to make just one trip to the store.

    This week:
    Monday – florentine mini meatloafs with whole wheat noodles and marinara and side salad
    Tuesday – Tofu & veggie stir fry with brown rice
    Wednesday – Mary’s El Pollo Bowls
    Thursday – Leftover stir fry mixed with cooked soba noodles
    Friday – Turkey panini with fruit salad

    • August 23, 2010 4:50 pm

      Sounds great. I am intrigued by the El Pollo Bowls! I’m going to have to stop by your blog to see what that’s all about :)

  4. August 23, 2010 6:33 pm

    We always plan our meals out for the week. It makes shopping easier and helps when it comes time to make dinner. Yummy options you got on your menu. I’m impressed with such a little one. I think at that stage we were still rotating the same 3-4 basic things.

  5. tiff permalink
    August 23, 2010 7:49 pm

    Your daughter is precious! That is the cutest picture of her.

  6. lessonstolearn permalink
    August 23, 2010 11:15 pm

    I need to take a lesson from you both! Wish I lived closer…I’d invite myself to dinner this week! Everything looks delicious!

  7. August 24, 2010 12:42 pm

    I’m really good about meal planning through the winter b/c we get so busy with hockey/dance that I have to know what’s going on the table in advance. In the summer, I’m more of a “free spirit”! ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Blogger Meet Up « Simply Fabulous
  2. What we ate last week « Simply Fabulous

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

