Skip to content

Lesson learned

May 15, 2011

Here we are:  Sunday night, Sophie is in bed and I have work to do for work this week.  I’m watching Supernanny and hoping that my kids are not like the kids that are on the tv right now.  All we can do is try to raise them right, love them, set boundaries, be positive role models for them and give them love.  Did I say love? 

I admit, my siblings and I were not perfect children – well, my younger brother was near perfect but my sister and I had our moments.  One too many fights with a brush, a few moments where we took our already tiny room and split it down the middle, and a few choice words were said when one of us realized the other had "borrowed" her clothes.  Despite everything, my parents put up with it, dealt with us and we came out pretty good.  I really hope that we can raise our children to be respectful, loving kids.  Oh and I just want them to be happy.

Anyway, how was the last week?

I challenged you all (and myself) to eat three different breakfasts.

I will be the first to admit – I’ve walked out of the house many times without having breakfast and a Larabar in my hand to eat en route.  I will be the first to tell my students at school how important breakfast is yet hadn’t really had a "real" one myself.  Being busy will do that to you. This week I made sure to do that.

IMG_8186

Waffles with banana, pb and pure maple syrup

IMG_8187

Cereal with raspberries and blackberries

IMG_8188

Crumpets with pb and banana

Oh and just thought i’d mention.. regardless if I eat breakfast on the go or not, I always have coffee :)

Fitness wise the week was a bit of a flop.

I did some yoga, ran once, did some walking, a bit of 30 day shred and some ab work – but, it wasn’t at the level that I worked out in week one this month, so that was a bit disappointing.  I know it’s because I would put it off, put it off and put it off and before I knew it it was late and I was beat.  Especially this weekend, I didn’t work out yesterday or today.  I should have got up, drank a coffee and went out right away.  But I put it off.  How many of you do that?  For me, getting it over with is definitely something I NEED to do at the beginning of the day (or straight after work) because sometimes other things take priority and then it just won’t happen.

Date night with Steve didn’t happen in the traditional sense.  I kind of knew it wouldn’t when I set the challenge.  Both parents were on holiday this week so we didn’t have a babysitter.  What’s a couple to do?  Take the baby of course.  The three of us went out for dinner last night. Not complaining… we love spending time with our girl :)

IMG_8238

Steve was doing some work outside but stopped for a moment when she was yelling “dada dada dada dada!”  She kept getting louder and louder until he finally went over to her.  The girl knows what she wants!

Hope everyone had a great week… and if you have any advice on the exercise thing, i’d love to hear it.

Don’t forget Ruby is holding challenges for week 9!

See you in a few days.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Fabulous Mom permalink
    May 16, 2011 7:56 pm

    Your breakfast looks good! I had a crumpet today, not 100% as good as England but really made me wish I was there having one with Sophie. lol BTW… all my children were perfect in my eyes and you all turned out to be respectful and loving I’m so blessed to have you all!

    I agree there is always coffee regardless! ;) xo

    • May 18, 2011 7:18 am

      So you can get them in Ontario then? Perfect for Sophie this summer :)

      • Fabulous Mom permalink
        May 18, 2011 11:58 pm

        Yes, we found them, and thought of Sophie right away! lol

  2. May 17, 2011 12:19 pm

    Mmmm tasty breakfasts! I bought a set of mini-cereals (they don’t usually sell them here) and had Rice Krispies, Cornflakes and Honey nut Flakes for my 3 different breakfasts!! Haha! Good times.

    I think it’s important to realize we’re still looking for the new ‘normal’ and maybe your goal should be that: a goal to work towards, but it does’t matter if you don’t make it 100% or get the perfect workouts in. We’re still doing more than ever and finding a balance & rhythm is not easy. Making sure we’re not hard on ourselves is also important.

    But I totally really to getting it done in the morning. I am a morning person. By the end of the afternoon i want to go to bed, or at least veg out. Haha.

    • May 18, 2011 7:19 am

      Yeah I think I was probably a bit hard on myself. To be honest i’m doing more workouts than I have in a long time. So I need to recognize the accomplishments!

      • May 18, 2011 8:02 am

        Yes, you do! But I know how you feel. Always learning new things, aren’t we??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

