Skip to content

What we ate last week

February 13, 2012

I’ve tried in the past to do a series of posts called Menu Plan Monday and I found that it just didn’t work for us.  I wasn’t able to keep up with the posts because we often think about our meals 2-3 days at a time.  Sometimes when we wake up in the morning, we decide what we are going to have that night for dinner based on what we have in the house or what we feel like.  It just kind of works for us, which is why meal planning does not.

I thought I might do a series of these posts called What we ate last week to either give you ideas for your meals during the week and even give me posts to look back on just incase I need a bit of inspiration.  I may do them each week, I may not.. no pressure right?

I won’t photograph everything either.  Been there, done that.. not my thing.  Work with me here.

Sunday:  Hearty Chicken Stew with Butternut Squash & Quinoa

Source: cookincanuck.com via Leah on Pinterest

 

This meal was inspired by Pinterest.  I had a butternut squash that needed using up so when I saw this recipe I knew it was meant to be.  I did change a couple of things.. using diced chicken breast instead of thighs, omitted the olives and used mushrooms instead and also added a bit of spinach.  It was delicious and we have some in the freezer for leftovers.

Monday: Spaghetti bolognaise – one of Sophie’s favourites.  Served with garlic bread and salad.  Oh and don’t forget the parmesan cheese.

Tuesday: Veggie burgers and sweet potato fries.

image

By far the best veggie burgers I have ever tried.  Steve even loves them.  We have about 6 boxes in our freezer because they went on sale last week.

Wednesday: Veggie stir fry over rice.

Thursday: Mushroom, spinach and cheese frittatas, served with toast.  Love breakfast for dinner and Sophie enjoyed leftovers for lunch the next day.

Friday:  Pizza Fridays in our house.  We had a bbq chicken pizza (Sophie had a 3 cheese pizza), salad and fries.

Saturday:  Twice baked potatoes, veggie burgers (see? we love them) and peas.

We haven’t had twice baked potatoes in AGES.  Probably since last summer when we went to Niagara falls with my parents and had something similar at The Keg.  They have loaded mash potatoes which are super good, but twice baked- definitely making them again soon!!  There are so many variations too.  We had ours with cheese and green onion.  Steve would have loved them with bacon too but we didn’t have any in the house.

There you have it, one week of meals- hoping to try a brand new recipe this week!

Do you meal plan?

What did you have for dinner last week?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 2:25 pm

    I completely agree that meal planning just doesn’t work for me. I’ll usually want something completely different by the time dinner comes around, so I usually just make use of whatever I have in the kitchen that calls out to me. That stew looks incredible! :)

  2. Fabulous Sister permalink
    February 14, 2012 4:42 pm

    I’m doing a lot of Pinterest recipies lately too! LOVE! Your meals looks so YUMMY!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

