Skip to content

41 weeks!

November 7, 2012

Other possible titles for this post…

Baby will not budge.

I must be really comfortable in there.

Baby has his/her own agenda.

On September 26th I wrote a post.. See it here.

Titled 5 weeks to go.  And in that post I said After all, from here on out I never know when things could happen (hopefully I am not saying that 6 weeks from now).

Famous last words right? haha!  It is literally 6 weeks to the day since that post, and here I am – still pregnant!  I think I would be going just a little more crazy if I didn’t have Sophie to keep me occupied on a daily basis.  We fill our days with so much that they fly by and I cannot believe that I sit here 7 days over due.  You know the saying.. where does the time go?  Yup, that.

I took a picture on my due date. Here I am in all of my 40 week glory!

20121031_093605

I haven’t taken a picture today yet, but I will likely get one at some point.  There isn’t a huge amount of change going on.  Huge being the important word here.  I feel it!  Generally though, I am okay.. nights are the worst, to sleep, to get comfortable, when the Braxton Hicks contractions really kick in and I always think is this it?  Then I wake up the next morning and realise.. no, it definitely was not.  Still pregnant. hehe. 

Let’s break this post down a bit more to cover what we’ve been doing lately.

Fun activities with Sophie..

Dance.  She’s LOVING it, and i’m loving watching her.  I bought her some new black shoes last week and she wore them around the house singing “heel and toe, heel and toe.”

Being outside.  Kids just do not feel the cold.  It isn’t super cold here –but it sure isn’t summer.  Steve took her out on his bike the other day for the first time (he just bought it… we’re so wishing he had it this past summer).

20121104_101447

20121104_101947

I was a super nervous mama and kept looking out the window to see if they were home every 5 minutes.  I tried to distract myself with a shower, some laundry and other odds and ends. She came home and told me all about it. Apparently she said “faster!” the majority of the time.

We also have a new to us bike that we got handed down from our niece Emily who has outgrown it.  We got it this past June but Sophie was too small for it then.  She’s had a bit of a growth spurt and fits on it pretty well with a little adjusting of the handle bars.  Lots to grow into, though she can peddle just fine. 

20121106_095644(0)

(yes the helmet looks a little high and wonky because I put her hat on underneath, trying to keep her head warm AND safe at the same time.  We might have to fix this).

Before we went out yesterday..

20121106_095149

Cheese!!

I love her “cheese” expression.. as evidenced in other pictures!

20121102_095653

20121102_100107

CHEESE!

She’s such a ham.  Open your eyes honey! hehe.

And lastly, (the list could go on)..

Fireworks.

20121103_184441

Sitting with Grandma waiting for the show in our backyard to start.

20121103_185207

Weee! Sparklers!! 

I could fill this post with a ton more, like how she saw Disney on Ice on Sunday.  I could post the blurry pictures from the play centre the other day (girl does not sit still).  It has been so great for me to be off work and spending so much time with her.  We’ve been filling our days with lots to do.  As a full time working mom I always wondered how SAHMs fill their days.  Obviously there is the regular household stuff to do, which I do plenty of, but there are many activities to be done with a toddler as well.  I don’t want to spend my maternity leave in the house, but I also don’t want to break the bank either.  So, it’s my goal to find fun things to do to keep us having fun, learning and just generally enjoying the time.  I suppose it’s finding that balance!

Any stay at home moms out there?  What’s your fav thing to do with your kids?  How do you find that balance?

Well, hopefully the next time I post I will have someone new to introduce you all to!  See you soon!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2012 12:07 pm

    Funnily enough I was researching the same thing as well. With the colder weather it’s hard to come up with things to do that don’t cost too much! One of the tips I read is to have a weekly calendar and fill in a morning and an afternoon activity for each day. You don’t have to stick to it, but that way you can research activities (play groups, reading hour at the library, random free events) beforehand and have the supplies you need as well. For all kinds of fun activities I LOVE Play at Home Mom http://playathomemom3.blogspot.nl/

    • November 7, 2012 12:13 pm

      Thanks for that website! Can’t wait to check it out. The colder weather is especially going to mean we need to get creative. I don’t mind being outside (it’s good for all of us!) but on those real dreary days we’ll need stuff to do without breaking the bank as I said before. Netmums.com is a good resource too. Not sure if you’ve ever seen it?

      • November 7, 2012 12:17 pm

        Oh yeah, I’ve seen netmums before, I like their “tone”, very friendly. I find the problem here is that there are NONE of the activities offered in my town as suggested by English and American sites. It sucks. Libraries open at 11 am (annoying!), and don’t do much for kids. I think one thing that holds me back is that because every day is different, we never have a set routine, which means Amber will always play up & drag out transitions endlessly (no clothes on! I want to walk! I don’t want to walk! Le sigh). I think if we had a bit more of a daily routine it may be easier.

        I found this on PAHM: http://playathomemom3.blogspot.nl/2012/01/rls-routine.html I thought it had some great pointers on setting up a routine with multiple children.

  2. November 7, 2012 12:27 pm

    These are great!! Thanks for linking me to them! Routine will be essential for us espec’ with having a newborn in the house. k, let me rephrase – I know routines and newborns don’t usually mix, BUT if I can keep up our routine going with Sophie in the coming months i’ll be much happier (and i’m sure she will too).

  3. November 7, 2012 2:16 pm

    I was just thinking about you this morning! Glad to hear all is going well and I look forward to your next post….hopefully with your new addition! :)

  4. November 7, 2012 6:15 pm

    Hang in there mama! Can’t wait to meet your new little bundle!

    • November 7, 2012 6:35 pm

      Will do! I see my midwife tomorrow! We’ll see what she has to say.

  5. November 8, 2012 6:30 am

    Just wanted to stop by and say I’m thinking of you and wishing you all the best for when the day does finally arrive! I don’t always comment but do read along and love following your progress and Sophie’s milestones.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

