Skip to content

Adventures in babywearing

January 29, 2013

I didn’t use the moby wrap when Sophie was a baby.  I used a carrier probably a handful of times but with Ella I wear her all.the.time.  Maybe it’s a second-baby-there-is-so-much-to-do-with-two-kids thing, but I LOVE it.

I started using the moby within days of Ella’s birth.

*edited to add: I use the Moby D!

20121113_115513

I moved the one panel for picture purposes but it would normally go over her head slightly for support.

20121113_123536

Out for a walk in the first week.

20121113_123716 

I absolutely love putting Ella in the moby wrap and she loves it too.  There aren’t many days that go by where I haven’t put her in at least once.  She’s been known to spend three hours at a time in it, and within minutes of putting her in she’s out like a light.

When it was just Sophie and I, when she was an infant – it was easy to sit on the couch all day and hold her while she slept.  Not much got done around the house some days but I didn’t care too much because I loved those days where we would cuddle on the couch.  Now, with the moby I can still hold Ella while she sleeps, but I can do things with Sophie too.  Win win.  There are still some days where things don’t get done in the house but every mom has those days! 

The great thing about the moby is I can do things – like cook (safely), clean, do my make up, play with Sophie, do laundry, go on walks, shop etc.  If worn correctly it is super easy to keep them secure while getting on with daily tasks.

 20130114_114211

 20130117_142321

Perfect for those tired mama days.

20130114_114708(0)

I love how she snuggles.

20130116_172634-1 20130118_104000 20130125_134930

I will probably use different carriers as Ella gets older.  I hear the Ergo is a great one, but I also have others at home that I could probably try first! 

Oh and despite all the babywearing we do, I definitely love those moments where we hang out on the couch too.  Sometimes you need to sit and take it all in.  Life is full of all kinds of busy, you know?

20130126_143427

Have you ever used the moby wrap or another type of carrier?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 3:54 pm

    I love that Moby wrap design–what is it called?

    • January 29, 2013 7:59 pm

      Do you mean the type of hold in the moby? I used the newborn hug hold when Ella was really little and now we use the standard hug hold. Will use lotus once her head control gets even better.

      • January 29, 2013 9:39 pm

        Oh, I meant the coloring. I didn’t see it on their site.

      • January 29, 2013 10:52 pm

        Should have mentioned, it’s the Moby D that i have! Thanks for pointing that out.

  2. Emma permalink
    January 29, 2013 6:47 pm

    Love, love, love my moby.

  3. Chris permalink
    January 29, 2013 7:00 pm

    We also loved the Moby when Vaya was really little, as she got bigger we loved the Beco Butterfly 2. We also had an Ergo but usually went for the Beco as I found it easier to get babe into. So nice to see that gorgeous little Ella again. I hope you are enjoying your stay in Canada.

    • January 29, 2013 7:55 pm

      I don’t know if i’ve ever heard of the Beco before. There are so many different ones out there!

      I hope your pregnancy is going well! Is Vaya excited??

  4. Anonymous permalink
    January 29, 2013 7:06 pm

    I bought a Moby to use after this baby is born. I am excited to use it, but am wondering HPW easy it will be to get baby in and out of the wrap when my hubby is at work.

    Thoughts?

    • January 29, 2013 7:53 pm

      I find it really easy to put Ella in without help. I know what you mean though, I was also a little worried about that. It does help to put baby in infront of a mirror so that you can tell that the fabric is supporting baby. The wrap was tricky to get use to at first but I can put it on within a minute now!

  5. January 29, 2013 9:00 pm

    Oh I am obsessed with babywearing, as you know. My now eight month old is constantly either in a sling, carrier, or wrap when we’re out. I wore him around the house all the time when he was tiny and gassy. It was a lifesaver.

    • January 29, 2013 9:08 pm

      I remember when i was pregnant with Ella i saw so many posts when you would carry Eli!

  6. January 29, 2013 9:11 pm

    Such sweet photos! Man, I wish I could have learned the Moby when G was little. I just never could figure it out. Maybe if there’s ever another baby, I’ll finally get a hang of it!

    • January 29, 2013 10:53 pm

      You could start now! ;) But definitely SO handy when they are teeny tiny.

  7. Sarah permalink
    January 30, 2013 11:18 am

    I’m so glad you posted this. I just got a Moby, and I’m planning to try to put Zoe in it once I’m healed up a little bit more. I had an emergency c-section with her, and while I’m not too worried about her rubbing up against the stitches, I am worried about my back because for whatever reason I have some pain there now. I think I’m overcompensating for the ab muscles by using my back for everything right now. How hard was it to put a newborn in there? I worry about trying to get her in there and supporting her head at the same time.

    • January 30, 2013 1:37 pm

      Congratulations on Zoe!! I have never had a c section but i can imagine the recovery is painful if care is not taken. I would probably give yourself a few more days but try not to worry, actually getting her in the moby when she is so small is pretty easy. I always leaned back a little bit and put her head on my chest, supporting her back with one hand and using the other hand to cup both her feet and then easing her into the newborn hug hold. I really recommend watching youtube videos, they helped me a lot!!

  8. February 15, 2013 8:32 pm

    I had a lot of user error with the Moby- I could never figure it out! We are huge fans of the Ergo and have been using it since day one! Congrats on your little cutie pies- the last time I visited you were a new mama of one :)

    I hope all is well in motherhood. I have a little 8 month old boy named Levi and it’s amazing!

  9. March 12, 2013 3:26 pm

    Looks very handy and she looks very comfortable, thanks for sharing!

  10. May 3, 2013 2:34 pm

    Just stumbled across this post… We used an Ergo for our youngest, and sometimes he still goes in it now at nearly 2… occasionally my eldest will go in at over 4!

    Definitely recommend an Ergo. Dare I be so sexist and say it’s fairly “Dad friendly” as well!? I didn’t find any of the other wraps that easy to get on with but the Ergo I loved.

    Hope that helps.

  11. August 7, 2013 1:32 am

    Unfortunately my little boy never got used to the moby so my wife had to abandon using it in the end :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

